life · Uncategorized

Invest In Others

What good is being an expert at something if you don’t share your knowledge with others?  Knowledge in my opinion is the most valuable thing I can give.  It’s truly a wonderful feeling to have others appreciate you for taking the time out of your day to help them or give them advice–and guess what?  I often do it for FREE!

Yes, for free.  Now I know it’s a thing with many consultants to charge people to “pick their brain”, however, I don’t like that for every situation.  I think it takes experience to determine when you should charge someone as a consultant and when to give information to someone just because…you care?

I’ve learned how to give business advice/tips/help without losing money or business–and give it in a way that helps the person get started on the right path–providing them with the resources to develop their own path.  This is possible, and you don’t have to lose out in the process.

In my circle, I’m often looked at as an expert, and I’m humbled by the fact that people trust my advice.  Being able to invest in their well being to help them get ahead in life and meet their goals is the ultimate reward–especially when I’m helping another woman.  So often we as women tend to act petty when it comes toward our relationships with other women entrepreneurs. Why charge someone just because you can? Yes, may gain monetarily, but are you gaining in life? Why are we as women so competitive with each other.  Don’t get me wrong, competition can be healthy–but do it for the right reasons–compete to challenge yourself, not to see someone else fail.  It’s enough room for all of us to win in this big world, so let’s lose “being petty” in 2017.

I personally have an open door policy when it comes to my friends, colleagues and even strangers–if I have information, I’m going to share it.  I may not share all of it, but I’ll provide enough to get you going and ensure that you too can win.  Call me what you want–but being a giver hasn’t failed me yet. Yes, time is valuable, but it’s also well spent when empowering another.  Have you ever noticed some of the most successful people are some of the biggest givers?  Why do you think that is?

“I don’t think you ever stop giving.  I really don’t.  I think it’s an on-going process.  And it’s not just about being able to write a check.  It’s about being able to touch somebody’s life.”-Oprah Winfrey

 So, what about you?  Do you feel like you should charge people for advice, or do you share your knowledge freely?  Comment below.

 

 

Leave a Reply

